CrossFit: Am I Fit Enough?

OK my “12 Week Challenge” finally ended two weeks ago. So, lets talk about some RESULTS?!

Lost 20 pounds

Dropped from 24% body fat to 18%

Increased squat by 80 lbs

Increased Bench by 65 lbs

Thoughts: Overall it was a good routine. I’d suggest it for anyone looking to shed fat and get lean but not for the average gym rat. To be honest, it got quite boring after a while (about 8 weeks) but I will say I learned a lot. For one, I learned how to properly eat to grow muscle and lose fat. That’s probably the most important take away for me. I also learned the importance of making food a source of fuel and not why I live.

So what’s next? Well, I’m glad you asked. It just so happens that the Sunday before my 12 weeks ended ESPN was airing the 2011 CrossFit games. I had heard of CrossFit from a few friends but I had never seen it with my own eyes. After just a few minutes I was hooked. What’s CrossFit? I’ll get into that in a minute but first click the link below and watch a video from those CrossFit Games. This event simply blew my mind.

The “Killer Cage”

If you aren’t sure what they did here’s the workout:

3 Rounds For Time (meaning they had to complete all three rounds as fast as possible)

7 reps of 225 lb Front Squat  (full range of motion BTW)

Bike 700 Meters

100 foot Handle Bar Traverse

WHAT?! They did all that in less than FOUR MINUTES! If you think that’s easy well, you’re freaking crazy. BTW if you do in fact think it’s easy just go outside and try to do three rounds of 20 push ups, 20 squats, 20 sit-ups and 20 pull-ups without rest. I bet you’re out of breath by the end of the first round. Go ahead, try it.

If you aren’t impressed by what those guys just did you may need to watch it again. Actually, go watch it again. Watch the guy in blue come from behind to win. Watch the guy in green, who was in first, eventually come in 4th cause his grip failed him at the end.

Notice the guys in the video aren’t super thin or super huge. Why? Well there are plenty of huge guys who can bench 500 lbs but can’t run a mile or a person who can run a marathon but will struggle to do a push up. That’s the beauty of CrossFit. It’s not about who is the strongest or who has the most endurance. It’s a combo of both. And it’s not just for guys. Women competed in the games too. I’m telling you, these athletes (and yes they are athletes) are the fittest in the world and it’s not even close.

So, after watching nearly 3 hours of the CrossFit games I knew I had found my sport. Maybe not in the way those guys consider it a sport, but I knew I had found something that would push me to levels I have never seen or ever thought to reach.

What is Crossfit?

CrossFit or simply “CF” describes its strength and conditioning program as “constantly varied, high intensity, functional movement, with the stated goal of improving fitness (and therefore general physical preparedness). The definition on Crossfit.com is a little more intense:

CrossFit is the principal strength and conditioning program for many police academies and tactical operations teams, military special operations units, champion martial artists, and hundreds of other elite and professional athletes worldwide.

OK, CF isn’t just for those types of people listed above. Yes, if you are in a job or service that demands a high level of physical fitness, then CrossFit would be the perfect fit but what about the average joe? Well, I’m an average joe, how can CF help me or better yet why does CF seem so appealing?

Does your back ache? Do you get tired after working in the yard for a couple of hours? Do you get tired after holding your young child after just a few minutes? Do you need a break after standing a while? Are you a football, soccer, baseball, hockey or softball  player and want to get Bigger, Stronger, Faster? Do you feel sluggish after a long day sitting at a computer? Does it hurt when you bend over to pick something off the floor? Are your muscles extremely tight? Have you been doing the same workout routine for YEARS and still get winded playing basketball? Do you want to jump higher so you can be better at basketball? Has your workout routine stalled? Do you simply just want to be better at life? Well, CF can help with all of that and more.

CF is for everyone no matter your background. I’ll spend more time later about CF, how it workds, its benifits and how you can get started but if your interest has been peeked go to CrossFit.com and take a look around. There’s a lot of info on CF out there and it took me about 3 days to fully grasp where to start. If you get confused send me an email and I’ll help get you anyway I can.

Be blessed,

4 thoughts on “CrossFit: Am I Fit Enough?

Leave a Reply

