My 12 Week “DAY 3” Check-In

 

 (I told you the guy looked like a Gym douche)

 

After 2 and half days of eating like a horse and making my body hurt from head to toe, I wanted to give a quick update on my initial impression on this 12 week Challenge.

– I haven’t hurt this bad, ever. I have been consistently “lifting” now for two + years and nothing I did during those two years ever made me this sore. This is mainly due to the fact I widely ignored my lower body cause I naturally have strong legs. Well, that made sense up until Tuesday morning around 10 am. The very first work out on this program is 5 Leg exercises which I had to change due to not having all the equipment. Squats (3 sets to failure), Hamstring Curl (3 sets to failure), Straight Leg Dead-lift (2 sets of 20), Leg Extension (3 sets to failure) and Dead-lifts (2 sets of 12). Throw in two 20 minute cardio sessions and what you have is one sore Lyell. So, when you go from 0-100 in one day the end result is pain. It was worth it cause I lost 2 lbs in one day.

– The eating part has been the hardest to adapt to. When I was losing 100 lbs my caloric intake was extremely (too) low. Probably in the 1200-1400 a day. I would basically eat the bare minimum needed to sustain life. Now, I’m getting about 2400 a day if not more. The biggest difference, besides the amount, is the food is clean and by that I mean lean and with little salt or additives. When I eat my body immediately uses it and I’m typically hungry within 30 minutes after finishing a meal. Each meal (6-7 total) contains a cup (about a fist size) each of Protein, a Complex Carb (rice, black bean, broccoli, sweet potato etc) and some type of veggie. This equals about 250 grams of Protein and Carbs with only about 40 grams of fat (and is probably much less). Later in the day I still eat carbs but I tail them off the amount to ensure the body is not overloaded when I go to bed. By working out, eating so frequently and extremely lean, my metabolism is being boosted all day long. I don’t know how it works but it does.

– My friend who is already 2 and half weeks into the program has already lost 10+ lbs and does little cardio. He literally just walks 3 times a day. I’m talking about a guy who runs marathons. This ish works people.

– For the first time in my life I’m waking up at 6:15 am so I can work out before I go to work.

– Figuring out how to ‘time’ my morning meal with my workout will be the key to weight loss. I lost 2 lbs the first day cause I had a 2 hour break between when I ate and worked out. The 2nd day I ate and then immediately worked out and only maintained. Once I figure this out I’m sure the fat will begin to melt off me.

–  I’m gonna start walking (like my friend) 2 or 3 times while I’m at work. Hopefully this will help in boosting the metabolism.

Well those are just a few thoughts after just 3 days. I’ll post again at the beginning of week 2 and if you’re interested in jumping in, let me know. Trust me it works.

Leave a Reply

