My Struggles…The SCALE

 

It’s a typical morning…I wake up around 7 am, make some coffee and wait for the morning “you know what”. Now it’s time to weigh in! What comes next can be a moment of elation or frustration… If I lose weight then I’m happy, even if it’s just a little. If I don’t, then anyone within ears reach better watch out. Especially if I feel the day before I ate right and exercised hard. “CRAP!” “Forget this &%^#!” “Are you freaking kidding me?!?!” “That can’t be right?!” “The scale must be broken” are pretty typical responses on these days. I sometimes wonder why my wife puts up with me…It’s cause I’m so hot ..

The funny part is I know I shouldn’t weigh every day. Wanna know the truth? I weigh BEFORE I go to bed as well. Yes, I have a sickness. I KNOW that my body weight can fluctuate 2-3 pounds on any given day. I KNOW it’s not healthy (mentally) to put myself through this every day. I KNOW I’m building muscle and that muscle weighs much more than fat. I KNOW this is stupid but yet everyday it’s the same story.

You see, I’m goal oriented. Eh, probably a better word would be “result” focused. If the scale doesn’t move, I must have done something wrong, right? How dumb is this?

My wife has tried to hide the scale…LOL, that didn’t work. I even tried taking the batteries out but it didn’t matter. If I don’t know how much I weigh, the day is not gonna start out right. God forbid my morning “you know what” is a tad weak or even worse if I don’t go. Again, I have a sickness…

I’ve been told a hundred times by many people that I need to quit. Stop focusing on how much I weigh. Stop torturing myself. STOP STOP STOP. But for some reason I can’t. It’ssoooooo frustrating. I hate it but the scale is my Achilles heel.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who deals with this!!!

7 thoughts on “My Struggles…The SCALE

  1. Hi My name is Bo and I’m a scaleaholic. I weigh everyday at the gym both before and after my work out. I then go home and weigh on the wii fit because it graphs it for me. I think my problem is that the good feeling I get when I lose weight is almost like a high. I feel better got pep in my step and just feel good.

    • well we put so much work into it..not losing weight is like a slap in the face. I wish i was the kind of person who only had to look once a week..My wife can and not get frustrated. Im just not cut from the same cloth.

  2. It’s definitely a love/hate relationship with the scale. I was down to one weigh-in a week…until I started using MyFitnessPal and I found a way to plot your weight each day. *sigh*

    I think this is just a part of the new normal for us. Like all the bad food and no activity was the norm in the past life.

    • Im gonna try and ignore this MyFitnessPal you speak of..

      I really hope to get to the point where 1 day a week is enough. Once I hit 225 Ill just want to maintain that weight but i know myself..I’ll want to go farther..

Leave a Reply

