Why I Do What I Do

I was asked the other day, “Hey Lyell, how much money do you make with DIY Fitness?” I gave him a “You’re kidding, right?” laugh and then I noticed…..He was serious. When I explained to him that I make absolutely zero dollars, he gave me an equally sarcastic “You’re kidding me” chuckle. He couldn’t understand why someone would spend so much time helping others and gain nothing from it.

What the gentleman didn’t understand was that not everything in life is about money. What a crazy concept, right? Sure, maybe one day DIY Fitness will grow to the point where advertising is an option, or maybe I’ll have so many people wanting help that it takes up too much of my time that I have to charge..But until that day comes, everything I do is free. Just ask the people I’ve helped..

Funny story, the other day my wife told me of a co-worker that was asking her questions about how to lose weight. (BTW, my wife has lost 60 pounds herself. WAY TO GO BABE!) As I listened to her tell the story I had this huge smile on my face…. I realized she sounded just like me…It blew my mind that she had been…you know… listening. I just talk about this stuff all the time I figured she just tuned me out. Guess not.

My “payment” comes from seeing people who’ve struggled with their weight for years finally conquer the very thing that has consumed them. I love seeing the “light bulb” come on after they realize they have the strength necessary to achieve success. Not because I did it for them but cause they found it in themselves. It’s even better when I see people I’ve helped, help those around them. Talk about seeing all your hard work have a positive effect. 

As a person who’s dealt with self-confidence issues his entire life, I love seeing others gain what I sometimes lack….After all, It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not. 

Be well,

Lyell

3 thoughts on “Why I Do What I Do

  1. Hi Lyell,

    Intriguing Blog post! I love how you talk about the significance of “seeing people you’ve helped, help those around them…and seeing how all your hard work has a positive effect.” There is a blog I recently read titled, “Does Seeing Altruism make you more Altruistic?” The blog was interesting because it discusses research results which illustrate that witnessing another person’s altruistic behavior elicits elevation, a discrete emotion that, in turn, leads to tangible increases in altruism.

    In your case this means that when people see you helping others with their weight they will be more inclined to pay it forward.

    I’m going to link your post to my blog, AltrUHelp (http://altruhelp.wordpress.com/).
    AltrUHelp is an online social experiment my team is launching this Spring to prove that if given the proper platform, humans naturally enjoy helping each other because altruism is central to the brain and pleasurable. We love to spotlight blog posts, like the one you just wrote, to help inspire altruism and reinforce our mission.

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful story!

    Best,
    Mat

    • Matt-

      Thanks for the link and I enjoyed your site. I have to admit this is the first time I’ve heard about Altruism but I think you’re on to something. Some people are motivated by monetary gain but I believe a majority just enjoy helping others. Very interesting concept. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  2. […] I was asked the other day, "Hey Lyell, how much money do you make with DIY Fitness?" I gave him a "You're kidding, right?" laugh and then I noticed…..He was serious. When I explained to him that I make absolutely zero dollars, he gave me an equally sarcastic "You're kidding me" chuckle. He couldn't understand why someone would spend so much time helping others and gain nothing from it. What the gentleman didn't understand was that not everythin … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

