Food Items To Avoid: Oatmeal….No Joke.

If there is such a thing as a self-proclaimed “super food”, then oatmeal would take the title. It’s known to lower cholesterol, which makes it good for the heart. It’s a “hearty” meal that sticks around for hours, which leaves you satisfied and guess what..It’s not fried..So, it must be good for you, right??? Well the answer would be yes (to a certain extent) and a BIG FAT NO!

OK lets start with the good. (quick pointers)

  1. Over 40 studies have shown that eating oatmeal may help lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of heart disease.
  2. Oatmeal can help you control your weight.
  3. Oatmeal contains a wide array of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants and is a good source of protein, complex carbohydrates and iron.
  4. Oatmeal is quick and convenient.

So, those are really good points. To be honest, I can’t really deny the good things that Oatmeal brings to the table. It’s a tremendous food choice but there are some negatives and you need to know them especially if Oatmeal is part of your daily diet. LETS GET US SOME KNOWLEDGE!

1.The Carb to Fiber Ratio is WAAAY Off. Oatmeal is very high in carbs and not all that high in fiber. Looking at the Quaker Oats Nutrition Facts you’ll see that every serving has about 27 grams of Carbs to only 4 grams of Fiber. Not terrible mind you but not great either. I always shoot for a Fiber to Carb ratio of 30% or higher. Unfortunately, Oatmeal is at a measly 14%. What does this mean? Well, more carbs mean more sugar in your blood stream and also means more stored energy. Also, if you consume too many carbs in one sitting, your body will store the excess as fat (if you don’t burn it off). This is especially bad for those people with high blood pressure and really bad for those looking to lose a lot of weight.

2. Most People Don’t Eat Plain Oatmeal. Raise your hand if you wake up in the morning and boil a fresh bowl of plain boring oats with no additives (sugar, syrup, fruit etc). (que jeopardy music)… waiting…still waiting…No one? Exactly…Lets be honest, most people instead go for the sugar loaded, sodium filled, chemically filled replacement Oatmeal better known as Quaker Oatmeal, Cinnamon and Spice flavor. Really? 33 Carbs to 3 grams of fiber and 13 grams of sugar??? Really? REALLY?? Thats not at all healthy. Also, the FDA  recommends the average person needs to get about 300-400 calories per meal. One packet of Oatmeal only has about 160 calories. So you’ll have to double your serving just to get enough food to last you. Not a good idea. All you’ve done is consumed 66 grams of carbs (roughly all you need for the day if you’re on a weight loss diet) 6 grams of Fiber, 8 grams of protein (not bad but not good) and 26 grams of sugar. Please tell me what’s healthy about that?

BUT LYELL ITS GREAT FOR THE HEART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3. Is Oatmeal Good For Your Heart?

I guess in a way it is. I mean it’s low in fat.

I don’t think so. Try this: Have a serving of slow-cooked (e.g., steel-cut, Irish, etc.) oatmeal. Most people will consume oatmeal with skim or 1% milk and some dried or fresh fruit. Wait an hour, then check your blood sugar.

If you are not diabetic and have a fasting blood sugar in the “normal” range (<100 mg/dl), you will typically have a 1-hour blood glucose of 150-180 mg/dl–very high. If you have mildly increased fasting blood sugars between 100 and 126 mg/dl, postprandial (after-eating) blood sugars will easily exceed 180 mg/dl. If you have diabetes, hold onto your hat because, even if you take medications, blood sugar one hour after oatmeal will usually be between 200 and 300 mg/dl.

This is because oatmeal is converted rapidly to sugar, and a lot of it. Even if you were to repeat the experiment with no dried or fresh fruit, you will still witness high blood sugars in these ranges. Do like some people and pile on the raisins, dried cranberries, or brown sugar, and you will see blood sugars go even higher.

The blood glucose effects of oatmeal really don’t differ much from a large Snickers bar or bowl of jelly beans. [1]via Heart Blog

I know that second paragraph is hard to understand at first so go back and read it again. RIGHT NOW. For you lazy peeps I’ll summarize. If you have high blood pressure or you’re diabetic, eating Oatmeal can increase your blood sugar to extremely high and possibly dangerous levels. Why? Well, as I stated above, Oatmeal is high in carbs…carbs turn into sugar  which can lead to high blood sugar levels. As Ron Burgandy so eloquently stated,”It’s science”..

 

So, what you’re saying is that I should avoid Oatmeal like the plague, right? OF COURSE NOT! Oatmeal is great and when used correctly it is a wonderful part of any diet. Now, there are obviously some good aspects of Oatmeal and some that should be very alarming. So know your medical history and eat smart. To be honest, my diet right now consists of Oatmeal at least 2-3 days a week. So obviously I think eating Oatmeal is OK. The key is moderation and not falling into the trap that the flavored versions are good for you. THEY ARE NOT! DON’T DO IT!!!!

If you are going to eat oatmeal, do so with caution. Add only fresh or dried fruits and especially don’t add brown sugar, butter and syrup to “add flavor”. I would suggest even adding a scoop of Fiber supplement as well. Also, don’t make it your only item for breakfast. Maybe eat one serving and throw in an egg or two.   

Be smart, do your homework and don’t fall for fancy advertisements that are designed for you to buy their crap!

 

 

84 thoughts on “Food Items To Avoid: Oatmeal….No Joke.

  1. don’t take quaker oats.. it’s horrible.. u will attack buy acidity within a hour & it will may block your heart.. …very bad product ever i seen

  2. Quaker is a processed brand. Try an organic brand an let us know if the results are the same. Have you looked at the info on BetterMedicine.com on this?

    • Its not about taste. This is about people who need to lose a lot of weight eating high carb meals early on in the day that will only slow down their metabolism. Weight loss is ALL about your metabolism. Why would you want to slow down something that’s already moving at a snail’s pace? Throwing high carb, low fiber foods at your body early in the morning does not promote weight loss.

        • Hey thanks so much for your insightful comments. So when I said Oatmeal is good for you but those with certain medical issues should be careful, you took that to mean what exactly?

          • You’re actually telling EVERYONE that oatmeal is bad for just because it has sugars in it and it’s carbs…..

            • Really? Seriously I think you should read it again….and I quote

              “So, what you’re saying is that I should avoid Oatmeal like the plague, right? OF COURSE NOT! There are obviously some good aspects of Oatmeal and some that should be very alarming. My diet right now consists of oatmeal every other morning. The key is moderation and not falling into the trap that the flavored versions are good for you. THEY ARE NOT! DON’T DO IT!!!!”

              Oatmeal good. Overprocesed crap not good. It’s called READING COMPREHENSION.

  3. Eating oatmeal is NOT like eating a ‘snickers bar’ or a ‘bowl of jelly beans’. You are talking about 2 different types of sugars that are digested differently. Just because oatmeal produces sugar in the body does not mean that it’s a bad type of sugar, such as what you would get from candy. Would you say that, because fruit produces sugar, you shouldn’t eat it? Ofcourse not beacuse fruit produces a healthy kind of sugar that you body needs. Try eating oatmeal with honey and rice milk or unsweetened almond milk and add a little bit of bran for the extra fiber.

    • Too much of anything is bad. Go check out the nutrition facts on oatmeal at any fast food restaurant and then try and tell me they are different from a Snicker. Carbs are eventually broken down into sugar and too much carbs at one time is bad for weight loss. However, oatmeal is a great maintenance meal or good for those ‘underweight’ people. But I suggest that obese people stay away from eating Oatmeal until they have reached an acceptable body weight.

        • It made you laugh? Why? Have you done any research on the adverse affects of carbs and weight-loss? Or how eating a high carb diet when you are obese can actually slow down your metabolism? Were you 330 lbs and lost 100 pounds? You obviously know more than me on the subject of weight-loss and carbs so please educate me. I’ll wait for your response.

      • Some things work for some disorders and may cause damage to something else in your body. Taking oats everyday brought my cholesterol from 223 to 155 in about three months. But, as is being said, it may cause one’s sugar level to go up. So, I guess you can’t have the best of both worlds.

    • But see, that’s just what he’s trying to say. It’s not JUST all about the oatmeal in and of itself, but also what MOST Americans add to their oatmeal for flavor that make it not such a great food that everyone makes it out to be. I love oatmeal and I think it’s very healthy. Lyell’s title and opening statements shocked me and made me think he was attacking the health benefits of oatmeal, but he’s not. He’s opening our eyes up to some very important stuff. If it doesn’t apply to you (generalization) and all the others on here attacking what he says then simply disregard the information, but chill out on your (generalization) rude comments. Just take it for what it’s worth. I cook plain cut oats but I do need to watch the amounts of added taste I add to my oatmeal. I think I do pretty well for myself, but it’s definitely easy to go overboard.

      • At least someone gets it. It’s not necessarily about oatmeal itself but what people add to it. More importantly what companies add to it for you. We just buy products because we think they are healthy when in fact they are not. Thank you

  4. I am a seventy one year old …active, energetic slim lady and still working!!
    But I do have a controlled type 2 diabetes, and am on medication for high blood pressure (never higher than 150/90). I read about DASH TLC and adopted the seven day diet plan. And OH My GOD, on day 2 after breakfasting on my home cooked oats porridge I nearly died. About a half hour later I was rushed to hospital. Somebody from DASH should have warned people like me. Thanks to you ahundredpoundslost.com I now understand what happened to me. No thanks to DASH!!! Najmee Pakistan

    • Wow what an amazing story and thank you so much for sharing. I hope when I’m 71 I’m still active. Your situation is the very reason I wrote the article. The average healthy person who works out every day can eat almost 300 grams of carbs a day and be OK but not everyone is average. I always suggest contacting your primary care physician before attempting any new diet plan, especially if you have medical conditions like diabetes. Even the slightest change to your diet can have deathly effects. I’m glad you’re OK and now you know how best to handle your morning oatmeal. Cheers! :)

  5. No more oatmeal !!! I am still scared. You are very right, I was wrong, not to have gone to my doctor, even for something as universally accepted as healthy as the DASH Plan sponsored by the NHLBI ( National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute).
    But I do aerobic exercises morning and evening for more than 30 minutes every day, which according to my doctor is enough for me, (I’ve never been overweight) I am not a couch potato, I work full time. But I’ll most definitely get my doctor’s go ahead in future. Till then I’ll stick with my mother’s eating plan!! Start my day with a glass of milk, an open sandwich with a little protein topped with a little veg and herbs, and munch an apple on my way to school, Thank you !! Najmee from Pakistan.

  6. I mix OLD FASHIONED oats into my curry where I add vegetables, beans. I don’t use any additives in my meal and oats are only about 10% to 25% of my meal. I also add shiitake or fish into my meal, but never salt nor any other chemical nor sugar. I never felt bad after eating such natural oatmeal curry, only good. Natural oats are good for you.

      • there are alot of people out there that eat regular oatmeal-not the flavored kind.i add fiber to my oatmeal wich makes the carb-fiber ratio alot better,and i lost 135lbs.i stay away from junkfood- chips ,twinkies,cookies.candy ect. i refuse to “nit pik” over oatmeal

        • Yeah nit-picking doesn’t help but understanding what you are eating and how it can best help your body is important. So many people just follow some cookie cutter diet plan and fail to realize that each person is different.

          Thanks for stopping by.

    • Oats, if you combine it with a healthy diet and don’t add a bunch of crap to it. I eat natural oats 2-3 times a week in the morning. I also exercise almost every day and eat 5-6 times a day. I also know my blood pressure is great and I have no known medical issues to worry about. Its all about knowing your body and what you should and shouldn’t eat.

  7. eh heh… i was raising my hand at the “who boils plain oatmeal with no sugar or add ons” and I don’t make mine with milk.

    Does that mean I’m good? Cause I do prefer it boring, oddly enough. Plus I eat it everyday for breakfast (or I prefer it for breakfast. I don’t think I eat it everyday… that’s a bit of an exaggeration).

    • If you aren’t diabetic or high blood pressure doesn’t run in your family, then yes you’re “good”. I eat oatmeal at least 5 times a week. I need it for energy and as a fiber source. I also eat carbs with every meal but I also lift 5 days a week and run 20 minutes every day. This ensures that I’m using whatever I’m eating. Point is moderation is the key.

      I just know way too many people who eat oatmeal and add so much crap to it making what was once good….well not good.

      Hope this answered your question. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. hi..i’ve read the above about oatmeal…i put a small handful of walnuts for the e in it and a small amount of raisins in too. Is this ok? I read on the raisin label that it contains 29 gm of sugar…a lot! i do add some flax seed also sometomes and switch the raisins to blueberries also.

    • Sounds like you are doing it right. Raisin’s do have a lot of sugar. Maybe use them to sweeten your oatmeal? If you can afford it find organic raisins to ensure they aren’t full of processed crud. I like the idea of adding flax seed. That will turn an already super food into a super hero food :)

  9. I also add to plain old oatmeal to boiling water from the microwave add in ground flax seed meal they sell in a bag at the supermarket and good amount of cinnamon and blueberrys if I got em. and I enjoy it….

  10. Question for u or anybody listening. Hopefully ull have the answer I need.

    For the past 2 days I’ve eaten nuttin but plain oatmeal. I’d say 1 1/2 cups. With just water. I ate it through out the day, tasted awful with no other flavoring added, it kept the hunger at bay which is what I was going for, I plan on doing this to, obviously lower my cholesterol, n hopefully weight loss for a wedding in about 6 weeks. I do excercise 4-5 times a week in mixed martial arts. Is it safe to continue such a diet. Boiling water n oatmeal, fruits n veggies also part of my diet.

    Please if u can provide an answer email me at duartesr44@aol.com.

    • My opinion would be that it’s “healthy” but not necessarily healthy for you. What you are basically doing is just getting enough food in your body to maintain some sort of function. Sure you aren’t “hungry” but is your body being fed enough? Why not just eat Oatmeal in the morning, a high protein lunch and dinner with some small healthy lower carb snacks throughout the day? You can still eat all the veggies and fruits you already eat but just add in some protein to promote muscle recovery. If you are working out 4-5 times a week your body needs more food to promote healthy weight loss.

      I guess my point is why starve your body of what it needs when you can feed it and get the same results?

      • Granola is actually the #1 “health food in disguise” not healthy at all!!! loaded with sugar, fat, saturated fat and carbs!

  11. No offense when I call you stupid. I how you mean the packaged stuff like already flavored pouches and not plain Quaker oats. Adding fruit like bananas and honey won’t make you fat and it’s not unhealthy for you. Sure, the sugar can be high, but would you rather it be a chocolate bar for breakfast or drink pop in the morning? I always have fruits and honey in my oatmeal along with organic peanut butter and sometimes coconut shavings, I use chocolatier cocoa powder a lot that’s unsweetened, cinnamon, walnut pieces or almond slivers, I sometimes use Stevia instead of honey if I have it in and plain Greek yogurt.

    It’s not bad for you at all. Sure, it’s sugar, but it’s fine. I can understand its bad for those with high blood sugar already, but not for someone like me.

    • Hey I like being called stupid by people on the internet. I take that as a compliment. BTW.. Since you hated the post so much I need to know where to send your refund.

      • Stop telling people oatmeal is bad for them, then. Get your info right. You may think you’re only talking about people with medical conditions, but most people looking at this will think its bad for them now. I don’t care how you take my comment.

        • “My diet right now consists of oatmeal every other morning.”

          Man it’s so bad I eat it every day. I think you’ve missed the point by a mile.

          • You are contradicting yourself, In your replies to posts you say that you eat oats 2-3 times a week( I eat natural oats 2-3 times a week in the morning in a reply to Jew), than to one reply you say it is 5 times a week( I eat oatmeal at least 5 times a week; reply to Saule), and now in this reply you say you eat it every day, Comeon we are all getting the point…..

            • Sorry for the confusion. What I should have said is “On a typical week I may get anywhere between 2-5 servings of oatmeal in”. But even that wouldn’t be exactly right. As It really depends on the week. Like this week, I’ve only had one serving. Next week it may be more. Point being, oatmeal, is apart of my diet.

    • Yep. CRAZY out of line..like going over the deep end, out of line. (total sarcasm btw). I’m pretty sure I never mentioned milk as a negative additive to oatmeal. Cause that would be just silly.

  12. I had this problem of mild Irritable bowel syndrome(IBS) and started eating rolled oats with Flaxseeds,walnuts,whey protein powder(Syndrome X protein powder from Sandra Cabot) ,crushed almond powder,and a few raisins all added with a litlle skim milk and no added sugar, it use to taste crap but now I am used to it, and it has improved my bowel movement tremendously and I can say that my IBS is treated now. I am getting addicted to it – I mean not because of the blood sugar high but because of the relief in constipation it has brought to me. I don’t feel like eating anything till lunch after having a bowl of this first thing in the morning and even at lunch I am not that hungry that I use to be.

  13. After 3 years of consuming old-fashioned oatmeal, my A1c spiked from 6.7 to 9.8

    I completely eliminated consumption of oatmeal and my A1c is back to normal without using any pills or other drugs. I went to a dietician and she said what I was doing to my body was like drinking a can of cola every morning.

  14. I started eating oatmeal for breakfast recently because I stopped eating wheat, (so no more toast)…I figured I needed grain of some sort. I cooked it in water with a tb of raisins, then added some milk and sugar on it before eating it.
    BUT I noticed I crashed and felt like I needed a nap not long after…even though I stayed full. Does that indicate anything to you? I have since stopped eating it and am trying fruit or eggs instead.

      • Instead of oatmeal+cow milk, I went to consume buckwheat+almond milk combo. My blood sugar after 2 hours only goes up by only 30 points vs 120.

      • I just want to say thank you. This made me look at oatmeal differently. I am in the gym and watch what I eat on a daily basis. I always wondered about the oatmeal that I was eating. This article has made me make some changes. Once again thanks

  15. Hi! I just wanted to comment:) um I’m on a oatmeal diet consisting of plain oatmeal no added sugars. I’m taking one bowl in the morning and one at night; for lunch I eat regular food with not a lot of grease. And within one month and two weeks I lost 20 pounds:) We need a little bit of this and a little bit of that in our diet; we need a bit of carbs, a bit of sugar, a bit if fiber, a bit of almost everything; we just need to have a balance.

  16. Hi! I just wanted to comment:) um I’m on a oatmeal diet consisting of plain oatmeal no added sugars. I’m taking one bowl in the morning and one at night; for lunch I eat regular food with not a lot of grease. And within one month and two weeks I lost 20 pounds:) We need a little bit of this and a little bit of that in our diet; we need a bit of carbs, a bit of sugar, a bit if fiber, a bit of almost everything; we just need to have a balance.

  17. I liked the article. It’ll get people thinking. But you’re still giving oatmeal too much credit! The only good thing about oatmeal is the fibre, which as you’ve pointed out, there isn’t much of. If you want fibre (because it’s good for your gut and heart) then eat food that’s high in fibre! That won’t be oatmeal!

  18. Just wanted to say that I was always active and fit until one day I started gaining weight unbelievably quickly. I went on a diet and was having mixed results, until my husband (much more observant than I am) pointed out that every week I had gained weight was one of the weeks when I ate oatmeal for breakfast every morning.

    I was later found to be insulin resistant, so obviously oatmeal is more dangerous for me than it is someone who isn’t insulin resistant, but you are absolutely right here and you never hear anybody talk about this. I could seriously kick myself for all those mornings when I started my day with an insulin spike in the name of being “healthy”.

  19. I’ve been eating oatmeal every morning for many years. Oatmeal, ground almond, ground walnut, flaxseed, strawberry, blueberry, dried raisin, dried cranberry and almond milk, i feel very good every day for so many years and never get sick.

  20. you have opened my eyes 100%. I have learned a great deal from reading your article. I had some left over flavored oatmeal, which I vow not to eat. I also have been eating Quaker natural Oats for the past month; I would add it raw to all I am eating, and sometimes put it in cooked steel oats. I always add one packet of Splenda with low fat milk. However, my cholesterol is still a little high, even when the doctor said my good is high, and not to worry. I still want to bring the # down. I see a lot of people mentioned adding flax seed. Should I? i am thinking it is going to taste nasty. Help

    • Enette,

      Thank you for your comment. You really should consult your physician about how to reduce your cholesterol. It’s not that I don’t want to help but I feel handing out advice of this nature is beyond my capabilities.

    • Depends on a few factors. If you are relatively healthy, but just need to lose weight, then sure oatmeal would be a great addition to your diet. But if you have any conditions like the ones i mentioned in the article then just be careful. It’s not gonna kill you but may hender your weight loss if used incorrectly :)

  21. Lyell, have you ever read Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis. Also check out Mark’s daily apple which is another website designed to help people get healthy. I see you are into the science of all of this. This is great! Read Wheat Belly. You can get the first chapter or so for free on Amazon by clicking on the book. Check it out and email me. I wish you the best!

  22. Ok do you know how dumb you sound in this article? The only thing you somewhat said right was the carbs these carbs are carbs you need fat asses like yourself think carbs make you fat when in healthy foods like this , oatmeal never made my suger go up get your life

    • Thank you so much Joe for being you. Might I give you some advice. If you’re going to call someone dumb, it’s probably a good idea to actually speak in complete sentences and at least try to sound a little coherent. That would allow me, and other readers, to take your comment seriously.

      But here is the best part. You are wrong with about every little thing you’ve said. Actually carbs do make you fat. Go read this and maybe then you’ll know what you are talking about.

      Thanks.

      • Hii I had some question… I really enjoyed your articl e as we’ll. I’ve been eating oatmeal for breakfast for the last couple of months the bad kind lol thinking it would aid me in my weight loss but has done nothing but added to the scale. I honestly thought it was good for you.. I mean any kind but I wasn’t sticking to plain old oatmeal. When you do have your oatmeal which brand do you recommend? Also could you show me how you calculate the carbs to fiber ratio and what % you gear towards as healthy? Also what do u typically have for breakfast on the days u don’t have plain oatmeal please? I’m trying o fin other alternatives to help me with my weight loss. Thank you!!!

        • Thank you so much for reading!

          A couple thoughts and some ideas. Without knowing your history and background it will be tough to give any real educated advice. So the best I can do is point you in the right direction. Let me start by saying this. When I was 330 lbs any change in my diet resulted in weight-loss. All I had to do was cut out cokes and fast food and i lost 20 lbs. But as i progressed my diet had to change with me. As of today I am 219 lbs and I eat a very low carb diet 6 days a week. When I wrote this post I was in the 250 lb range and my diet needed to be different. There’s a lot of good science behind low carb diets and why they are great for fat loss (not just weight). And there’s a lot of bad science behind low fat, high carb diets. Be careful of what you read and what you believe. Your body is a machine and if you feed it right it will work properly. Read my post about “Why we are fat” and do some research on the subject. I bet my one year salary that if you are eating oatmeal, exercising at all and eating a healthy veggie and protein full diet, yet still gaining weight, you are insulin resistant. That would mean you are like me, and pretty much every overweight person on the planet. Our bodies don’t regulate sugar levels very well and our fat cells are just sucking up the extra insulin making them grow. Naturally thin people don’t have this problem and thats why they are able to eat a balanced diet, which includes carbs, and stay thin. Don’t let some person who has never been overweight (like a Dr. Oz) try and tell you to eat a “balanced” diet. That illogical and just plain bad advice.

          Im not telling you to never eat carbs but be careful if you are in fact insulin resistant.

          OK but back to your questions.

          Calculating the carb to fiber ratio is easy and there really is no math involved (unless you want there to be). The more fiber and the less carbs the better. Like black beans. They have around 20 grams of carbs but typically about 7-9 grams of fiber. Thats good. Compare that to a piece of whole wheat toast which has about 25-30 carbs but only, maybe, 2-4 grams of fiber. I always shoot for fiber making up 30-40% of the total carb amount. This would make this type of carb low on the glycemic index.

          And thats really the heart of my post. Carbs are good but not for everyone. For instance, I can eat bacon everyday and my bad cholesterol level would never move an inch. Why? cause I have good genetics. Some people can’t. And if I went for my yearly check up and they had risen, well I would start to watch my fat intake. You have to eat for you and how your body works the best. The food pyramid is crap and should be turned upside down.

          Hope this helped:)

  23. For starters Lyell, the title of your blog: (Food Items to Avoid: Oatmeal… No Joke) is incredibly misleading if you are in fact raising concerns about certain types of processed sugar filled commercialized brands of oats and oat meals and not just spreading misinformation about plain old natural oats.
    Aside from that you haven’t mentioned anything about different types of sugars,.. some are good for your body and some aren’t. Oats contain starchs like grains and oats need the exposure of certain enzymes to be convert those starchs into sugars. Your body converts these starches in the digestive track into glucose and then uses that glucose for energy, and this is a relatively slow process. Plain and simple, your body needs healthy natural sugars for energy. There is absolutely nothing wrong with naturally processed oats or rolled or flaked (quick) oats, they are extrememly healthy and full of great stuff for your body, and a bowl of oats is absolutely nothing like a snickers bar or a bowl of jelly beans, your’re talking about different kinds of sugars,.. one is natrually occuring and a simple sugar, the other is processed and complex. Now what people add to the oats and how much (portion size) of the food they are eating whether it be oats or anything else is where the real discussion should be.
    A bowl of oatmeal with two big spoon fulls of white sugar in it, isn’t any better than a banana dipped in chocolate syrup. But we shouldn’t be comparing oats to white sugar or bananas to chocolate syrup. If this really is a discussion about losing weight and what foods to avoid, I could list atleast a hundred right now that I would cut out before I would oats,.. its just absurd really. I eat oats very regularily and have for many years, and I also brew with oats,.. converting those starches into fermentable sugars, and I’m in incredible health, but I lead a generally healthy life style with excersie and a very balanced diet, I also don’t eat processed or refined sugars, or bad fatty foods. I eat lots of raw unpastureized honey and maple syrup, these are a few of the healthiest and best sugars full of vitamins and proteins that you can eat.
    There is alot of misinformation here and you’re misrepresenting oats to be some kind of complex scary food that only horses should eat. Oats are one of the best and most affordable and available foods out there for people to eat.
    You might want to invest some energy into getting people to stop eating ketchup and fast food.
    Atleast change the title of the article to something more accurate and proactive.
    Cheers. …would you like to try and oatmeal stout? ;)

    DustyJ

    • Thank you for your well thought out response. I always respect other people’s opinions especially when they are expressed respectfully and yes i love oatmeal stout every once in a while :)

      A couple thoughts.

      1. This post isn’t about what’s good about carbs as I covered that in another post. This is a post about the ill effects oatmeal (not just oats) can have on a diet. This is why i singled out the Quaker Oats brand as being evil (ok not evil but not necessarily healthy).

      2. I didn’t go into the different types of good sugars because again, that wasn’t the point of the post. As I have mentioned over and over in the comments, and even pointed out in the actual post, oatmeal isn’t bad for everyone. If you are of healthy body weight and have been so for most of your life then oats can be a very healthy part of your diet. But most people who are obese are also insulin resistant and should avoid any type of carbs at all costs (i bring this up since you brought up how sugar effect insulin levels). Since their body struggles to regulate the flow of insulin and thusly causing fat cells to grow, carbs are their mortal enemy. They have enough stored energy in their fat cells to last them a VERY long time so they don’t need the extra sugar to survive. Plus, you can find fiber in more food than just carbs. So simply saying “your body needs healthy natural sugars for energy” may be true for some but terribly misleading for many.

      So again i thank you for your comment but i feel you jumped the gun on a couple things. I have preached for years that you must eat for how your body is designed and not by what someone deems as “balanced”. If you have hypothyroidism, like people who are insulin resistant, your body doesn’t break down crabs properly; which makes it extremely hard to lose weight. If you have naturally high cholesterol you need to eat low saturated fat foods and watch your LDL levels. I could go on and on. Just telling people who are overweight to eat a balanced diet does an injustice to the real problem.

      • I’m just curious about what you said about the effects of oatmeal on blood sugar levels. I thought that oatmeal (the good kind, of course) was lower on the glycemic index scale. Even though it has a higher carb count, based on the glycemic index, wouldn’t that mean it would release sugar slowly into the bloodstream? Those higher on the scale are the ones that make the sugar levels fluctuate dramatically because of the rapid release. Obviously, carbohydrates are a necessary nutrient and there are plenty of choices, but wouldn’t these low glycemic index options, such as oatmeal, be necessary for even those affected by insulin resistance and diabetes? Just wondering your take on this.

        • I agree, theoretically, foods that are low on the glycemic index are better for you than others. But the question in all this is how does YOUR body process carbs? Just saying that because oatmeal (the good kind) is low on the GI and that its “good” for you is a very generic and simple statement that doesn’t hold true for everyone. I eat a low GI diet but currently eat very few carbs (from grains) every day. This is a personal preference that is based off how my body processes carbs.

          “Obviously, carbohydrates are a necessary nutrient and there are plenty of choices, but wouldn’t these low glycemic index options, such as oatmeal, be necessary for even those affected by insulin resistance and diabetes?”

          My answer is no. If your body is insulin resistant or you are diabetic, why would you ingest something that could have serious repercussions to your health? That would be like smoking while having lung cancer. To me, there are much better and easier ways to regulate your diet.

  24. I add wheat germ, cinnamon, ground flax seed, and 2 or 3 crushed up almonds. I’ll either add berries, or half a teaspoon tsp of dark brown organic fair trade sugar. I also have organic rolled oats, and I don’t buy the instant stuff; and it only takes me 3 minutes to prepare in the morning. Since I’ve started eating oatmeal every morning I’ve lost 43 lbs. I also made some other changes in my diet, but for the meantime I’ve been focusing solely on my diet, and I haven’t been doing any extra exercise. I don’t go to they gym or anything. I’m just trying to lose the weight, then I’ll tone up. I went from a BMI of 33.5 to 25.6. It’s still in the overweight range, but I’m certain I’ll get to the healthy range in a matter of weeks. For me to be in the healthy range I need a BMI of 24.9. A BMI of 30+ is considered to be obese. Oatmeal keeps me full all day, and I actually have to remember to eat. (I eat 5 small meals a day.) While before I would gorge myself with high fat foods all day.

  25. You are spot on correct about Oatmeal spiking blood sugar levels. I am a type 2 diabetic that WAS managing my blood sugar levels. I eat Oatmeal for breakfast 5 times a week. I started having big problems controlling my sugar levels and started to monitor all of my pre and post meal numbers. Thinking that Oatmeal is suppose to be good for me, I never suspected that it was one of the major culprits. My blood sugar levels would climb to 200 and stay there for over 2 hours. I will now be very carb carefull about what I intake from now on…

    Thanks for your info..

  26. Omg.. damn oatmeal. I just realised something. And your article confirmed it. A long time ago when I was still a student and a poor one too, I had one month when all I ate was porridge (I ate it twice a day and I’m sure it all fell below 1000 calories a day) and I lost no weight what so ever during that month. Also I started training last summer and had success doing it and lost a stone. Then I decided that I’m going to train hard and eat like a bodybuilder (I want to compete next year) and exactly when I started eating oats I stopped losing weight! I wasn’t gaining it either, but just maintaining it. I really couldn’t understand why it was happening. And now i’ve been trying to lose more weight again, and been eating around 1400-1500 a day, while exerciing about 1.30 hours a day.. while eating a bowl of porridge every morning and i’ve lost nothing. And I never added anything into my porridge and I even made it with Almond milk and not regular milk. Now i’ve finally realised it – im never eating it again! haha I’m sure lots of people would say it’s not the porridge.. but in my experience – it bloody is! I’m going to remove it from my diet, eat what I ate before (eggs and stuff like that) and see what happens.
    Thanks for your info! :)

  27. I think oatmeal is very good for you and is a great source of carbohydrates when used in moderation. Limiting carbohydrates to times when your body needs them will aid in muscle growth and limiting fat gains. I recommend endomorphs to limit their carbohydrates to breakfast and pre/post workout. For example, if someone workouts at 6 PM I would recommend they consume some carbohydrates at breakfast, such as 1/2-1 Cup oatmeal, and post-workout, such as 5-10 oz. sweet potato.

    For all other meals they should consume green vegetables and small amounts of fruit. If you workout first thing in the morning, I would recommend following a similar setup, keeping your carbs in your pre and post workout meals.

Leave a Reply

